Photography Project: Creative photography at amusement parks

Amusement park swing ride

Amusement park swing ride

As a nature photographer, I find amusement parks to be overwhelming – too much sensory stimulation.  I stopped trying to get the quintessential photographs, and decided to try my hand at creative interpretation.  I had an opportunity recently at Pleasure Pier in Galveston, TX.  There were a handful of rides, just enough for me to dip my feet in.

Be prepared to take a lot of images.  Use the burst mode on your camera, and a high shutter speed to stop the motion.  I took 200+ images and kept 9.  In terms of capture technique, I worked on both extremes: using a fast shutter to stop the motion, and slowing the shutter to create blurred abstracts.  I also worked with some creative processing techniques in post to push the contrast and color to the extremes.

Blurred abstract of amusement park ride

Blurred abstract of amusement park ride

Painterly image of colorful abstract based on ride

Painterly image of colorful abstract based on ride

close-up of amusement ride detail

close-up of amusement ride detail

Ferris wheel

Ferris wheel

Leave a Reply

