Photography Project: Creating a vintage postcard look

1306_MFA_Hawaii_012-Edit

I’ve been curious about the vintage look phenomenon – instagram, texturing, cross-processing filters, etc.  I feel like I spend half my time removing defects in a photo, and then the other half putting them in.  What is it about the vintage look that we find so compelling?

For me its the color, the uniqueness ….. and maybe the feeling.  Warm, comfortable, safe, and playful.

I have about three different video classes I’m taking right now.  One is Nicole Dalesio’s creative Photoshop techniques.  In this technique she uses Photoshop 1/2 tone filters (black and white and color), as well as a scratched texture to create a vintage look.  I choose one of my favorite muses and gave it a go……

Leave a Reply

