Photography Project: Using a consistent color palette

1312_PSA_Big Sur_0298-Edit

This week’s Visual Toolkit project was about using color to unify a set of images.  As usual, I started out with an idea and then realized I needed to go a different way once I finally got started.  My idea was to use a green and gold color palette for a set of beach shots.  Well, as you can see……that’s not exactly what I ended up with.

Peter and I focus on nature photography, but I found my day at Avila Beach to be creatively stimulating.  It was a different environment, subject matter……well just different, and I had a lot of fun.  I’ve committed to try to change up my environment more often and break out of my comfort zone.

I decided to use a series of images that showed different things people do at the beach.  I played with different color palettes using Topaz’s Restyle, and ultimately decided to pick a palette that supported the subject…..blue and gray with a touch of peach (although, I still secretly harbor a desire for green and gold…..maybe I’ll take this series, or similar images, and texturize them with those colors).

Some of these images were taken with the Lensbaby Edge 80 optic.  I am bound and determined to become proficient with this lens in the new year (as well as my canon 65 mm)……now that I’ve put it out there, I’m sure I can count on people to hold me to it.

1312_MFA_Avila_0175-Edit 1312_MFA_Avila_0160-Edit 1312_MFA_Avila_0002-Edit

2 thoughts on “Photography Project: Using a consistent color palette

  1. very nice…… really like the textures and colors of the four on the beach, great angle,,,,, wishing you and Peter a very happy new year and sending a hope we get to shoot together in 2014…

Leave a Reply

